Four and Twenty of the Week, April 7

First of the Morning

The birds wake
from dark huddles
drunk with
worm thoughts

By Dave Jareki

Dave Jarecki’s poem “At 3:00 AM” is featured in the March 2009 issue of the journal.
5 Responses to Four and Twenty of the Week, April 7

  1. Nyla says:

    This made me laugh! How wonderful is this! Brovo!!!

  2. Dave says:

    OK – full disclosure on this poem: when I wrote it, I actually meant to write “warm thoughts”, but I’ve always confused “warm” and “worm” on paper (in my head it all makes sense, but for whatever reason…) As I was readying to send I realized that it said “worm” instead of “warm” – and I thought, Hmm, that’s actually better. Plus people might think I’m more clever than I am.

    Thanks for running this one, Vinnie – love the work you’re doing.

  3. Nyla Alisia says:

    Oh how perfectly delightful! That is awesome, and yes, the last line was what made it perfect, now shhh…. do not ruin my wonderful thoughts that you are so extremely clever! :p

    (my brain and fingers seldom get along, I know just what you are talking about!)

    Again, I love this!
    Nyla

  4. Elly says:

    I think worm does sound more interesting.
    Nice work.

