Special Issue: Poems and Artwork from Students at York Elementary

We are pleased to share with you a special edition of Four and Twenty featuring poems and artwork by the students in Laura Truitt’s fifth grade class at York Elementary in Vancouver, Washington. Click here or on the image below to download this special issue (PDF 2.8 MB).

This issue was inspired by the Classroom Publishing project at Ooligan Press. In January, our publisher made a trip to Ms. Truitt’s class to teach her students about the process of publishing a poetry journal. These talented students put what they learned into practice by partnering with our publisher to create this student-written, student-edited issue of Four and Twenty. We are happy to share with you the amazing result of all their hard work.

13 Responses to Special Issue: Poems and Artwork from Students at York Elementary

  1. Sarah P. says:

    Nicely done. Good work!

  2. Congratulations, York authors! Keep those poems coming.

  3. Karen Stromberg says:

    Awesome! I loved the poems and especially liked reading your biographies.

  4. Alice says:

    Great poetry journal. Poems and artwork go well together. I like the truthfulness of the voices in the poems. Well done. Oh, and the bios are super.

  5. Marianna says:

    Thanks for the CP nod–I’m glad to see the fruits of your labors!

    Should I worry that 6 kids mentioned that they like to play XBox or video games?? …just recounted and 7 like reading, so that’s good!

  6. Celeste says:

    Wonderful poems! Keep up the awesome work!!!

  7. Kim says:

    I am so impressed! Well done!

  8. Ron. says:

    Truth: One of the best poems I ever read was written by a fifth grader I worked with when I was doing my student teaching. I’m retired now, but I’m still having poetry published & I do readings fairly often. I frequently include that fifth-grader’s poem in my reading.

    Well done, students. A kudos to the teacher for inviting poets / publishers in the classroom.

  9. Eliot Kurfman says:

    What a wonderful collection of poems. These 5th graders are truly poets already, and I hope some of the continue to pursue and improve their poetry. Keep up the great work!

  10. Bob Wood says:

    Just when I thought I was smarter than a fifth grader! Great work.

  11. Mike Miller says:

    This is so great! I’m definitely reposting this over at High Coup.

  12. Halie S. says:

    Great job York Explorers!

  13. Lynda Boissey says:

    I was very impressed by the quality of the work and the variety of topics for each of the poems. I could certainly identify with many of them. Thanks for giving a snowy day in New York something to cheer about.

