Four and Twenty of the Week, April 8

My Notebook

Perpetually empty;
eternally plenty
of pristine pages, saved
for thoughts better than these.

Jonathan Batteas

Jonathan Batteas is a poet, living in the heartland of America. | pasceverbo.com
6 Responses to Four and Twenty of the Week, April 8

  1. Zoe says:

    lovely poem – the eternal promise of a new notebook…

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment. I’m glad you enjoyed it. Ah yes,…an empty notebook, a promise of joy to some; a spectre of terror to others 🙂

  2. Sarah P says:

    I love this! This is exactly how I feel holding a new notebook.

    • So glad you liked it. Thank you for taking the time to comment. I’ve found diving right in, and screwing up the first couple pages with random doodles, and any rhymed lines my mind can think of (no matter how asinine) keeps the rest of the notebook from feeling too sacred to serve its purpose. Hope that might help 🙂

  3. eternally plenty – a really like the thought of this. I am glad that I happened upon this short form poetry site. I’ll be back.

